Your Tribe

Tribes

I love being a member of a tribe. Actually, I am a member of several tribes. I love the support, the comradery, the familiar. But, are tribes necessary? With the invention of the internet, you can shop alone, read alone, play games alone, eat alone, work alone, and be alone. But are we really alone? Even the people in my life who are self-declared “loners” have tribes, and they wouldn’t give them up for the world. You see, we all have a need to connect and even the smallest of tribes provides its members with the connection they desire. Tribes are “your people.”

The first time I attended a local chapter meeting of the National Speakers Association, all I can remember thinking is, “These are my people and where have they been all my life?” I felt like I had known them for years and that this is where I belonged. This is what it feels like when you find your tribe. To this day, I consider that fateful day to be one of the best days of my life.

My tribe of professional speakers is not my only tribe, nor will it be my last. I will soon be introducing a Facebook group where professionals, novices, and true beginners can come to share and learn about public speaking. I want to make sure you have the tools and the resources you need to become a better public speaker and to share your struggles and successes along the way.

Keep watching this blog. I will announce when the Facebook group is up and running. In the meantime, take care of your tribe and if you don’t have one, find it. You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

