Reflections – Week #1

Horse Race

This week felt like a race to the finish. Earlier this week, I wrote that one of the items on my bucket list is to go to the Kentucky Derby. I want to go so I can wear a big, fancy hat. This week, I felt like I was the horse.

I had a rough start. I have this belief that I should be able to read all of the instructions for all of the sources provided and be able to figure out for myself what exactly I’m supposed to do. However, after days of angst, I gave up trying to figure it out alone and looked at examples of my peers’ assignments. I immediately understood what I was supposed to do. I hate looking at others’ work before completing my own because I don’t want to be influenced by their work or, even worse, what if my work becomes unoriginal? I finally realized that all I was doing is looking at examples so I can better understand the assignment. Unfortunately, before I figured this out about myself, my assignments were already late.

How well do you feel you completed the requirements of the week’s assignments (inclusive of at least two TDCs, your DS106 Activity Bank Assignment, response to course readings (grad students only), your critique of the digital story, various responses to CU Denver peers, and engagement with other online social networks)?

Once I “got it,” I feel I completed the requirements of the week’s assignments well, except for turning in some assignments late.

What gave you trouble? What did you enjoy most? What did you learn?

The part that gave me the most trouble was understanding what I was supposed to do with the Reading Response assignment. I spent more time trying to figure this out than was necessary. I mostly enjoyed creating the Daily Create, Dark Side of the Moon. I got to use a little humor. I learned that literacy is more than just knowing how to read and write. Technology has forced us to expand the definition of literacy.

What would you do differently? What questions do you have?

I would have looked at examples of my peers’ work as soon as they posted it so I could get to work right away.

Questions:

How much and how frequently within a reading should I annotate? Sometimes I have a lot of comments and questions about what I’m reading and at other times, not so much. I want to make sure the number of my annotations is appropriate. I don’t want to annotate too little and risk not being appropriately participatory, but I don’t want to spend needless time annotating twice for every paragraph if it is unnecessary.

When an assignment is due “by Wednesday,” do you mean that it is due by the time Wednesday begins (Tuesday at 11:59pm), or do you mean that it is due by the end of Wednesday (Wednesday at 11:59 pm)?

What are some of the larger issues surrounding your work, particularly as they relate to exploring your focal theme?

I can’t properly answer this question because I don’t have a focal theme yet. 

Provide a self-assessment of your work quality and effort on an “exceeding expectations,” “meeting expectations,” and “below expectations” scale. Why are you “exceeding” or “meeting” or “below” course expectations?

Quality – I tend to grade my work with a much too critical eye. I think the quality of my work at least meets expectations because I complete all assignments and am thorough and thoughtful when doing so.

Effort – Exceeding expectations. I put a great amount of effort into this class. I want my work, responses, and reflections to be a true example of my capabilities. 

 

Leave a Reply

