Reflection – Week 4

I really enjoyed this week’s assignments. This week I spent more time thinking about the creative aspects of the assignments. In the past, I would create the first thing that popped into my head, which resulted in a good product. By allowing more time for my mind to ponder each assignment, I was able to create and produce a much better product in both quality and creativity.

I had the most trouble with the Octopus Encounter that asked:

  • What is the back story between the octopus and the person?
  • Who is behind the glass?
  • How did they get here?
  • What happens next?

I had trouble with this assignment because it would never have occurred to me to ask these questions. My initial thought was, “Who cares? This is a ridiculous assignment. I’ll just wait until tomorrow to see if tomorrow’s assignment is less absurd than this one.” I told myself that I needed to get out of my comfort zone and complete the assignment even if I thought it was absurd. After contemplating the image for a while, I came up with the idea to use song lyrics as the speech bubbles for each of the characters in the image. It ended up being one of my favorite daily creates. I’m glad I didn’t wait until another day so I could do something I was comfortable with. I learned that good things can come from doing something that makes me uncomfortable.

I most enjoyed the story critique of the poem, “I Want to Be a Mystery” by Kara Douglas. It is such a simple, yet profound poem.

I don’t think I would do anything differently. I put a lot of time and effort into my projects and I am proud of my work.

I don’t have any questions.

“What are some of the larger issues surrounding your work, particularly as they relate to exploring your focal theme?” Each week, this seems to be the question that stumps me. I don’t see any larger issues. Maybe I don’t understand the question. I’ll let you know if I find any issues.

For the most part, I think I am meeting expectations. I also think that on occasion this week, I may have exceeded expectations. I did some good work this week and I put a great deal of effort into it. It was a good week.

Leave a Reply

