Finding Who? – Design Assignment Bank – Week 5

Movie_Mashup

This week’s mashup assignment was to take elements from multiple movie posters and mash them up into one. Change anything – the caption, the title, the main image, etc. Also, make it seem like it could be a real movie.

Each year, there is one week that I dread more than any other – Shark Week on the Discovery Channel. My sister is a major fan of sharks. I know that I will not see my sister for a week, and she will post about it on Facebook and talk about it for well over a week. I would rather be watching a Disney movie. As you can imagine, we have a hard time deciding on a movie that both of us approve. For this assignment, I chose to merge elements of the movie posters for Jaws and Finding Dory.

My chosen story theme is the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI). This movie poster mashup features two distinct MBTI types, the ENTJ great white shark, and the ESFP Dory. I thought this would make for an interesting dichotomy.

The Great White Shark (ENTJ)

  • Strategic
  • Assertive
  • Confident
  • Analytical
  • Efficient
  • Curious
  • Thick-skinned
  • Leader
  • Goal-oriented
  • Impersonal
  • Intellectual
  • Ambitious
  • Decisive

Dory (ESFP)

  • Sociable
  • Cooperative
  • Creative
  • Excitable
  • Spontaneous
  • Adventurous
  • Harmonious
  • Fun-loving
  • Talkative
  • Lively
  • Sensitive
  • Friendly
  • Carefree

I created this mashup in PowerPoint. I used the Jaws poster as my background. I removed the background from the Finding Dory movie title using lunapic.com. I found an image of Dory with a transparent background, no lunapic needed. I created a box the same color as the cream background and covered the Jaws title. I added all of the elements to the original Jaws background poster and took a screen shot. A quick upload to Flickr.com and I was done.

I had a lot of fun creating this poster. I think my sister would enjoy this movie more than I would. I would root for Dory. My sister would root for Jaws.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

