Reflection – Week 7

The assignment I enjoyed the most is the ds106 Daily Create where I had to use a photo that expressed a distinct emotion and caption it with the opposite emotion. For the second time this term, I used song lyrics to caption a photo. I am proud of how this turned out. I wanted to use this photo, but it is a black and white photo, and neither white nor black text would work, because at some point, part of the text would fade into the background. I didn’t want to cover any part of the photo by putting a black or white box over the image. Then, I thought to use a white box, but make it transparent – just enough to provide a contrast for the black text.

I'm So Excited

I had the most trouble with the ds106 Assignment Bank assignment, where I had to create a Wanted Poster. I tried using a template in PowerPoint, which was a fail. I tried creating it from scratch. I tried using Wanted Poster creation websites. None of the results were satisfactory. Finally, I found an iOS app, WantedPoster that allowed me to select a template, quickly add a photo and add some text. The project itself was not difficult, but finding the right tool for the job was difficult.

If I had to do something differently, I would have researched different ways to create a Wanted Poster before jumping into the first thing I found. It would have saved me a lot of time and frustration.

I don’t have any questions.

“What are some of the larger issues surrounding your work, particularly as they relate to exploring your focal theme?” Each week, this seems to be the question that stumps me. I don’t see any larger issues. Maybe I don’t understand the question. I’ll let you know if I find any issues.

I did some good work this week. I put a lot of thought into my assignments this week, and I spent a lot of time and effort on them. Although, as I learned, I spent more time and effort than was necessary had I done research for tools before beginning a project. I believe I met the expectations of the class.

Leave a Reply

